FANDOM


Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow (DoS) ist ein Spiel für den Nintendo DS, dass im August 25 in Japan erschienen ist. Der westliche Name ist dabei eine Anspielung auf den Nintendo DS. In Japan trägt das Spiel den Titel Teufelsschloß Dracula: Kreuz des Blauen Mondes (悪魔城ドラキュラ 蒼月の十字架 Akumajō Dracula: Sōgetsu no Jūjika). Der Titel ist dabei eine Anspielung auf "Aria of Sorrow", dass in Japan als "Minuet of Dawn" bekannt ist.

Das Spiel ist die direkte Fortsetzung von Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow, so tauchen sowohl Soma Cruz als der Protagonist, als auch andere Charaktere aus Aria of Sorrow hier wieder auf, wie z.B. Genya Arikado und Julius Belmont. Zeitlich ist es ein Jahr nach den Ereignissen von Aria of Sorrow angesiedelt und handelt von einem rätselhaften Kult (der jedoch in keiner Beziehung zum Kult aus Aria of Sorrow' steht), der versucht Soma zu töten und somit die dunklen Kräfte Draculas, die in ihm ruhen, wiederzubeleben. Sie sehen diese als eine Art Strafe für Soma an, da er sein Schicksal abgelehnt hat, die Inkarnation Draculas zu werden. Im Glauben des Kultes representiert Dracula das ultimative Böse, und muss deswegen existieren, damit es auch das ultimativ Gute geben kann. Statt vor dieser neuen Bedrohung zu fliehen, ergreift Soma die Initiative und konfrontiert seine Feinde. Dabei entdeckt er ein Schloß, dass Draculas sehr ähnlich ist, das wahrscheinlich vom Kult errichtet wurde, um dort das Ritual abzuhalten, in welchem Soma geopfert werden soll, um den Vampirlord wiederzubeleben.

Das Gameplay ist dem seine Vorgängers, Aria of Sorrow, sehr ähnlich. So kommt auch hier wieder das Tactical Soul System zum Einsatz (Soma's Fähigkeiten, die Seelen besiegter Gegner zu absorbieren und anschließend ihre Fähigkeiten zu nutzen). Dieses mal jedoch kann Soma die Fähigkeiten auch verbesseren, indem er mehrere gleiche Seelen sammelt. Neu hingegen ist das Magic Seal System, dass Gebrauch des Touch Screens macht. Mit dem Finger, oder dem Stylus, muss der Spieler ein Symbol, oder Siegel auf den Touch Screen zeichen, um somit besiegte Bosse einzuschließen. Falls das Siegel nich schnell genug, oder unkorrekt gezeichnet wurde, kann der Boss sich regenieren und kämpft weiter. Desweiteren kann der Touch Screen auch dazu verwendet werden, verschiedene Blöcke zu zerbrechen, im Menu zu navigieren, oder um verschiedene Familiars zu kontrollieren.

ACHTUNG SPOILER!

Das Spiel hat auch einen Multiplayer Vs. Modus, indem ein Spieler einen Abschnitt des Schloßes kreiert, es mit Feinden ausstattet. Anschießend müssen beide Spieler sich durch das Schloß kämpfen. Auch Seelen können untereinander getauscht werden. Wie auch schon in AoS gibt es auch hier wieder den Julius Mode, in welchem man Julius Belmont steuert. Der Modus stellt jedoch dieses mal zusätzlich einen Tribut an Castlevania III: Dracula's Curse dar, da man hier zwei Verbündete hat, zwischen denen man jederzeit wechseln kann: Yoko Belnades, eine Hexe, die wie ihre Vorfahrin Sypha Belnades mit einem Stab und Feuer, Eis und Blitzmagie kämpft, und Alucard aus Castlevania: Symphony of the Night, der mit einem Schwert, dem Hellfire Spruch und der Fähigkeit, sich in eine Fledermaus zu verwandeln, ausgestattet ist.

DiversesBearbeiten

Mit DoS kehrte man in Japan wieder zum Namen "Akumajo Dracula" zurück. Vorher trugen die Spiele seit "Concerto of the Midnight Sun" (im Westen Harmony of Dissonance) auch in Japan den Titel Castlevania.

Einige Spezial Items finden sich Menu, sollte sich Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow im GBA Slot des DS befinden, so z.B. der seltene Ring.

Charakter GallerieBearbeiten

HeldenBearbeiten

Feinde (menschlich)Bearbeiten

Feinde (Dämonen)Bearbeiten

Siehe auch Dawn of Sorrow Monsterliste

TriviaBearbeiten

  • Die Silenced Ruins Area ist ein direkter Tribut and das erste Akumajou Dracula/Castlevania für das Famicom/NES. Ein ähnliches visuelles Design, speziell der letzte Raum, der aussieht wie der erste Korridor in Castlevania. Die Hintergrundmusik ist "Vampire Killer" und der Boss hier ist Bat Company, was auch eine direkte Anspielung auf den ersten Boss in Castlevania, die Giant Bat, ist.
  • Mine of Judgment ist ebenfalls ein Tribut an ein weiteres Castlevania Spiel, in diesem Fall an Super Castlevania IV. In Super Castlevania IV, wenn man sich zum Schloßturm hochkämpft, ist der erste Gegner Slogra, gefolgt von Gaibon und schließlich vom dem Grim Reaper. Wenn man sich in DoS die Mine hinab kämpft, trifft man zuerst auf Slogra und Gaibon, gefolgt vom Reaper als Boss. In der Mine kann man auch den Track Basement Melody aus Haunted Castle hören.
  • Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow enhält drei Items, die Krone, die Glocke und den Konami Man, die eine Homage an das das erste Castlevania darstellen. Die Krone kann gefunden werden, wenn man auf einem der Stühle in den östlichen Räumen des Demon Guest House sitzt. Die Glocke findet man, indem man den Fledermaus Spruch anwendet und in eine der Glocken in der Dark Chapel fliegt. Und der Konami Man kann schließlich im verfluchten Glockenturm gefunden werden, indem man auf einer Plattform kriech, die von Stacheln umgeben ist. Die Items haben keinen Einfluss auf das Spiel und in ihrer Beschreibung steht lediglich wieviele Punkte sie wert sind. Sie können jedoch an Hammer verkauft werden. Interessanterweiße können sie jedoch auch im Julius Mode gefunden werden, während alle sonstigen Items (außer den magischen Herzen) nicht aufgesammelt werden können.

Siehe auchBearbeiten

Weitere ThemenBearbeiten

Externe LinksBearbeiten

Störung durch Adblocker erkannt!


Wikia ist eine gebührenfreie Seite, die sich durch Werbung finanziert. Benutzer, die Adblocker einsetzen, haben eine modifizierte Ansicht der Seite.

Wikia ist nicht verfügbar, wenn du weitere Modifikationen in dem Adblocker-Programm gemacht hast. Wenn du sie entfernst, dann wird die Seite ohne Probleme geladen.

Wikia

Castlevania Wiki

Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow

Talk4
4,413pages on
this wiki
255767
Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow
Wiki-Game-Gallery
RELEASE INFORMATION
Japanese title 悪魔城ドラキュラ 蒼月の十字架 Akumajō Dracula: Sōgetsu no Jūjika (Demon Castle Dracula: Cross of the Blue/Pale Moon)
Developer(s) Konami
Publisher(s) Konami
Released date(s) Flag of Japan August 25, 2005
European flag September 30, 2005
Flag of the United States October 4, 2005
Platform(s) Nintendo DS
Media(s) 512 megabit Cartridge
Rating(s) ESRB: ESRB T Teen (T)
CERO: CERO 12 12+
PEGI: PEGI 12 12+
CREDITS
Director(s) Satoshi Kushibuchi, Koji Igarashi (Producer)
Designer(s)
Composer(s) Masahiko Kimura, Michiru Yamane
GAMEPLAY INFORMATION
Genre(s) Adventure
Mode(s) Single player, Multiplayer

Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow (commonly abbreviated DoS, although the correct abbreviation would be DS or CDS) is a game for the Nintendo DS, part of Konami's popular Castlevania franchise. The game was first released in August 2005 in Japan. It should be noted that "Dawn of Sorrow" is a play on "DS", the system that this game has been released on, (a subtitling structure that has been used for other games released for the system). This game is known in Japan as Demon Castle Dracula: Cross of the Blue/Pale Moon. The subtitle is also based on "Aria of Sorrow", known as "Minuet of Dawn" in Japan.

The game is a direct sequel to Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow, with Soma Cruz as its protagonist; other characters from Aria of Sorrow also appear in the game, including Genya Arikado and Julius Belmont. It takes place one year after Aria of Sorrow and deals with an enigmatic cult (unrelated to the cult led by Aria of Sorrow antagonist Graham Jones) who seeks to kill Soma and revive the dark power of Dracula sleeping inside him, as a sort of retribution for Soma 'denying his destiny' in becoming the Dark Lord incarnate in the previous game. In the cult's mind, Dracula represents the ultimate evil that must exist for there to be an ultimate good, and with the Dark Lord sealed, that cannot happen. Instead of running from this new threat, however, Soma decides to take the initiative and confront his foes head-on, eventually discovering a castle and monsters similar to those owned by Dracula, supposedly constructed by the cult as the scene for the ritual required to sacrifice Soma and revive the vampire lord.

The game also features most of Aria of Sorrow's main gameplay, including the Tactical Soul System (Soma's ability to absorb enemies' souls and use their powers), which is a nice touch to the game, as this was a very interesting mechanic in Aria of Sorrow. This time Soma can upgrade most abilities by acquiring multiple copies of the same soul. New to the series is the Magic Seal System, which makes use of the system's touch screen. Using a finger or stylus, the player must draw an intricate symbol or "seal" on the touch screen to trap defeated boss enemies. If the seal is not drawn quickly and correctly, the boss can regenerate energy and continue to fight. The touch screen can also be used to break certain blocks, navigate menus, and control certain familiars.



The game also has a multiplayer vs. mode, where one player creates a section of the castle, complete with enemies, and both players race to defeat the enemies and reach the end of the level; players are also able to trade souls they've found in the game. In addition, there is a Julius mode where you can play as Julius Belmont, armed with the Vampire Killer and subweapons. In this mode there is a tribute to Castlevania III: Dracula's Curse in the sense that you can gain two allies to your task and switch between them at any time: Yoko Belnades, a witch who fights like her ancestor Sypha Belnades with a staff and fire, ice, and lightning spells, and Alucard returning from Castlevania: Symphony of the Night with his signature sword, Hellfire spell, and the ability to turn into a bat.



MiscellaneousEdit

With the release of this game, the series will be going back to the "Akumajo Dracula" name in Japan. The series had used the Castlevania name in Japan since the release of "Concerto of the Midnight Sun" (known as Harmony of Dissonance in North America).

A few special items will appear in the item menu if Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow is in the DS' GBA cartridge slot, such as the Rare Ring.

Character GalleryEdit

Main article: Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow/Gallery
Characters
Heroes and Allies
Image Name Information
SomaDawn
Soma Cruz
The main protagonist and possible successor to Dracula.
MinaDawn
Mina Hakuba
Soma's childhood friend.
Dos-julius
Julius Belmont
The oldest Belmont called into action.
Arikado in DoS
Genya Arikado
Works for a Japanese paranormal agency. An alias for Alucard.
YokoDawn
Yoko Belnades
A exorcist working for The Church. Heir to the Belnades Clan power.
Dos-hammer
Hammer
A former military man. Now an information broker and arms dealer.
Villains
Celia-full
Celia Fortner
Leader of a cult who fears a world without a Dark Lord.
Dario-full
Dario Bossi
A Dark Lord Candidate who can control fire.
Dmitrii-full
Dmitrii Blinov
A Dark Lord Candidate who can copy attacks.

AwardsEdit

  • In Electronic Gaming Monthly's E3, the E3 model of this game was given a score of Awesome.
  • Upon the game's North American release, EGM awarded the game with Game of the Month honors, as well awarding it with a Gold Medal, since the average of the three scores was at least 9 out of 10.
  • It was given a difficult 5 out of 5 on the T.V. review show X-Play.

TriviaEdit

  • The Silenced Ruins area is a direct tribute to the first Akumajou Dracula/Castlevania game for the Famicom/NES—in addition to similar visual designs, especially the interesting idea of making its last room mimic the first corridor of the first Castlevania, the background music is a remix of the background music for the first stages of this title that started the series, "Vampire Killer." Also, the boss in this area, the Bat Company, is a reference to the original Castlevania, where the first boss was a giant bat.
  • Mine of Judgment also houses a tribute to a past Castlevania game; in this case, Super Castlevania IV. Back in Super Castlevania IV, as the player traveled up to the keep, Slogra was the first of the four final bosses they would meet, followed by Gaibon on the next floor, and then by Death just before the keep. In Dawn of Sorrow, as the player travels down the mine, they encounter Slogra and Gaibon as minor (although numerous) enemies, followed by Death as the boss of the area. The mine also features a reappearance of the music track Basement Melody from Haunted Castle.
  • Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow contains three items, the Crown, the Bell, and the Konami Man, as homages to the original NES Castlevania. The Crown can be found by sitting on one of the chairs in one of the most eastern rooms of the Demon Guest House, the Bell can be found by using the Bat Spell and flying into one of the bells in the Dark Chapel, and the Konami Man is found by crouching on a platform surrounded by spikes in the Cursed Clock Tower. Each of these items has the description simply stating the number of "points" they are worth. They have no effect on gameplay (although they can be sold to Hammer) but interestingly enough, they can be collected in Julius Mode, whereas all other items (besides magic hearts) cannot be picked up. It is unknown what their effects are in Julius Mode.
  • This game Japanese title 悪魔城ドラキュラ 蒼月の十字架 Akumajō Dracula: Sōgetsu no Jūjika (Demon Castle Dracula: Cross of the Blue Moon). In the package art, characters have formed the cross as the title.

See alsoEdit

Related ProductsEdit

External linksEdit

Related User BlogsEdit

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki